Food: Turkey Meatloaf Muffins.

That’s right, I said it. Muffin. Instead of making the large brick of meatloaf and waiting for 50+ minutes for it to be done. I put mine in a muffin pan to make personal sized mini meatloaf’s. Trust me, not only do they cook more quickly – 18 minutes to be exact, they look great on your plate and are super easy to put into Tupperware for tomorrow’s lunch. Plus they stay super moist! I followed a recipe that I found in my Cooking Light magazine, but naturally changed a few things. Here is my version.

  • 1 tablespoon of butter
  • 2 cups chopped yellow onion
  • 1 (8-ounce) package pre-sliced mushrooms – I use Cermini mushrooms for their depth of flavor
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 3/4 cup Panko bread crumbs
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh flat leaf parsley
  • 1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon Sriracha (I usually use a little more than this, depending on how spicy you want it)
  • 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 pounds ground turkey breast
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1 tablespoon packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Coat muffin pan with cooking spray, coat the entire pan.

2. Melt butter in large skillet over medium heat. Add onion and saute for 2-3 minutes until softened. Add mushrooms and garlic; cook for 6-8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove and let cool.

3.  Combine Panko and next 8 ingredients (to egg) in large bowl; add mushroom mixture once cool. I use my hands to blend all ingredients together.

4.  Take small to medium handful of meatloaf mixture and pack between two hands (almost like you are making a burger), place in muffin form, press down so that it’s compact. I keep a small peak so that the meatloaf’s look like muffins.

5. Combine ketchup, brown sugar, mustard and nutmeg together in small bowl (I added a little hot sauce to the mix too). Spoon about 1 tablespoon of mixture on top of each meatloaf top.

6. Bake for 18 minutes. I’ve turned the broiler on for the last-minute or 2, just so it’s a little crispy. Let cool for 1 minute before serving. Dig in!




Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Food: Turkey Meatloaf Muffins.”

  1. This is a perfect healthy way to enjoy meatloaf in the right portion! The recipe is a must try, the brown sugar and ketchup mixture is a perfect sauce for a topping.

  2. How cute! I love the addition of sriracha sauce — I often use it to spice up several of my dishes as well. I like to use my muffin tins for making mini quiches and frittatas. :-p

  3. Mmm this looks so yummy! Please check out my recipe for meatloaf cupcakes with mashed potato frosting: http://bit.ly/meatloafcupcake

    Thanks!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

