Food: Sriracha uncovered.

It’s 6 degrees outside and I’m thinking about hot sauce. I just made a two egg omelette and plopped a few drops of this sauce on top. Heaven. It adds the prefect amount of heat without sacrificing the taste of the ingredients. Yum.

I used to quickly dismiss this condiment.

I’m not a fan of having my mouth burn with spicy heat flavors that consume the taste of the food. Oh, what was I thinking. After the first time experimenting with this sauce; adding it into my classic mushroom sauce (for steaks and/or roasted potatoes), I turned the corner. I now include it into many of my experiments in the kitchen.

It is made from sun ripen chilies which are ground into a smooth paste along with garlic. So try this on eggs, mix in with mayo, marinades and add to dressings for a little kick. Oh, it’s great in stir-fry’s too!

Check out this great article in Bon Appetit. It will change your life. The hot sauce, that is.

http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/slideshows/2010/01/sriracha_hot_sauce_slideshow#intro

Tags:

2 Comments to “Food: Sriracha uncovered.”

  1. This hot sauce changed my life. Love the blog, Kate! Happy Valentine’s Day.

    -K & T

Leave a Reply

