Food: Banana Bread.

This isn’t the best way to start out a recipe but I don’t like bananas. I can’t peel them and then take a bite. I don’t know if I was over fed them as a child or what. I don’t like them in fruit salad or fried up in bananas foster. BUT I love them in bread. Strange?

This bread is such a great comfort food. I love it for breakfast, toasted with some butter. Or with a cup of tea for an afternoon snack. I cut the slices nice and thick, toast until slightly brown on top and add a cold pad of butter = heaven, I tell ya’.

I must give credit where credit is due. This is my Mother’s recipe. She probably got it from somewhere but I don’t know where. I called her up several years ago to ask for it and it is still on the same piece of paper that I wrote it on. I think that is neat – since it is very abbreviated and covered in many banana and yogurt stains.

Banana Bread

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour, sifted
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup softened butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (x3)
  • 1/3 cup low-fat plain yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
1. Combine sifted flour, baking soda and salt into a bowl.
2. Mix sugar and butter with electric mixer until incorporated. Add 1 egg at a time until well beaten and combined. Then second egg.
3. Add bananas, yogurt and vanilla and mix until just combined (helps to mash bananas prior to adding them to mixing bowl – don’t want to over beat the yogurt so that the batter stays light).
4. Add flour in 3 separate portions to the banana mixture until just combined and moist.
5. Add to glass baking dish (8.5 x 4.5 x 2.5in) coated with cooking spray. Bake for 1 hour. Test with cake tester – mine needed 10 more minutes. Let rest on wire rack for at least 20 minutes, then remove from baking dish. Slice into if you can’t wait!
*Make sure you move the above oven rack to the next level, since this bread will rise.


Tags: ,

6 Comments to “Food: Banana Bread.”

  1. It’s even better if you add chocolate chips!!

  2. Timmy LOVES banana bread! He’ll be right over for a slice… or 5.

  3. Timmy mashed 12 bananas today and helped Nana bake 4 of Aunt Kat’s banana breads. Timmy said it was the best banana bread he had ever had. Thank you for the recipe, Aunt Kat.

  4. Made this recipe this morning but made 12 muffins and 2 mini loaves of bread. Put a crumb recipe on top before baking and added choc chips to about 1/2 of the muffins. SO good!

    We are now out of bananas but have lots of yogurt leftover. Any recipes using low fat plain yogurt???

    • Yum. Love the addition of chocolate chips!

      Check out my Tandoori Chicken Kabob recipe – the chicken is marinated in yogurt!
      Also blend some fruit and yogurt together for an awesome morning treat….I’ll be posting a frozen yogurt recipe soon too!!! Be on the look out.

Leave a Reply

