Food: Blueberry Bran Muffins.


I like toast. I like bagels. I like English muffins. I could go on, but you get the picture.  Any of these will do in the morning…with some butter of course.  But these Blueberry Bran muffins added a different element to my weekend breakfast plate.

Bran does not make a regular appearance in my diet – so on Saturday morning I decided to change that.

With this addition of bran, it made me feel better. And adding a slab of butter didn’t hurt either!

Now that I have early morning drives to school, snacking on one of these will help me start out the day- nothing like starting out the day with some bran!

Blueberry Bran Muffins

Adapted from the Joy of Cooking

Makes 16 muffins

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups wheat bran
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon grated orange zest
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 3/4 cup blueberries, frozen
  • 1 tablespoon rolled oats, optional for sprinkling on top
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease muffin tins.
1. Whisk together in a large bowl the flour and the rest of the dry ingredients through salt.
2. Combine in another bowl the buttermilk, molasses, egg, butter and oil.
3. Add wet ingredients to large bowl with flour – mix until just combine (don’t over beat the batter). Fold in blueberries.
4. Let sit for 10 minutes.
5. Divide batter among the muffin cups. Sprinkle rolled oats on top of each muffin. Bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Let cool for 5 minutes before removing from pan.

4 Responses to “Food: Blueberry Bran Muffins.”

  1. I only wish I could join you one morning for a breakfast like this!

  2. What are the greens that the eggs are served on?
    -Gregg

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

