Thoughts: Culinary School Week 6.

I can’t believe it has been 6 weeks. As I look back at the weeks, I am amazed at how much I have learned. This week in particular has been a jam-packed week (pun intended).

This week was Game Birds. So we explored ducks in detail – breasts, legs, carcass and the innards. We made duck confit, seared duck breast (picture below) and implemented the innards in about every possible dish throughout the week. Chef threw them into the risotto on Thursday…the heart cut up threw me for a loop.

We also discussed menu planning, plate presentation, and our critiquing and experimenting with foods we have eaten before and making them different.

Each week a different student is a bread baker. So for the week that student is in charge of baking the bread for the class for each day of the week. And it also means that the students has to be at school at 6:30 am – to get the dough together and start the proofing (rising/resting) process. And who was that student this week?

ME! I have no idea why I am making that face or doing that thing with my lips in this photo. Anyway, those are my baguettes that I made on Tuesday. After 2 days of making baguettes I moved on to Boules (rounds) with sun-dried tomatoes and another with black olives and roasted garlic. Yum.

We  had the pleasure of having Chef John Ash visit our class.


Chef Bob (my instructor) and Chef John Ash, listening to ‘story time’ at lunch. 

 

If you don’t know who he is, check out his website. He is a huge supporter of the ‘farm to table’ concept – which my school supports and implements – and he  is known as the “Father of Wine Country Cuisine” – good enough title for me to listen closely!

He gave a short presentation discussing the 5 most important things that we, as up and coming Chef’s, should know and become passionate about.

1. Good Meat.

2. Sustainable Fish

3. GMO’s (google it)

4. Know your Farmer. Know your food.

5. Healthy eating

It was so great to have him at school with us. He is such a celebrity, that I felt shy and didn’t really talk much. But still so thankful for his visit and soaked up everything that he had to say. Plus, he ate my bread.

We watched Chef Bob make mozzarella – the process involves kneading cheese curds in boiling water – hence the anticipation of pain in his face and hands. It was painful to watch but so good on top of veal.


I’ll end with a baguette shot!



Leave a Reply

