Food: Roasted beet and garden fresh arugula salad.

There is something special about picking lettuce from your own garden. And it is even more special when it is peppery Arugula. Arugula is so easy to plant. Drop a few seeds in a row, and in a few days you will see them sprout. I started eating mine after 2 weeks of planting the seeds. Love that.

So on to beets. I think you either love them or hate (dislike) them. I happen to love them. Besides the long cooking time, visually they are eye candy. Their texture and taste are so velvety smooth.

Plus your finger tips turn pinkish redish while preparing. Not sure if that is a good thing or not?!?!?!

There aren’t exact measurements for this recipe. I usually don’t measure my salad greens or feta cheese or qunioa when I am plating a dinner in a hurry for one. The ingredients list are a guide for you. 

I cooked 1 cup of quinoa, so that I would have leftovers for another dish during the week. I probably used about 1/2 cup on this salad. 

Roasted beet and garden fresh arugula salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium to large beets, scrubbed
  • arugula, freshly picked from my garden
  • quinoa, cooked and cooled
  • feta cheese
  • Garlic Balsamic salad dressing
  • chives, cut
  • slivered almonds…i added these after I took the pictures, oops.
Method:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wrap beets tightly in foil and place on sheet pan. Roast for 1 1/2 hours or until tender in the middle. Let cool on sheet pan, with foil open. Once cool enough to handle, with a paper towel remove skin. Dice 1/2 or 1 whole beet up per serving.
2. Assemble salad plate. Layer with arugula, quinoa, diced beets and feta. Dress salad and sprinkle chives and almonds on top.
 

 
 
Leave a Reply

