Food: Apricot and Jalapeno Marmalade.

I know what you are thinking.

Apricots and jalapeno’s?? What a strange combination! But trust me, just this once.

The freshness and unique flavors from the apricots and the heat from the jalapeno’s are a match made in marmalade heaven. I slathered this on toast and I couldn’t believe my eyes…I mean my taste buds.

Marmalade. Jam. Jelly. They are all intimidating to me to make from scratch. At least it was before. This was super easy.

I made a small batch, since I knew that I was going to be the only one in my household that would be consuming this. Plus I didn’t want to have to go through the whole bottling and canning process with 16 jars. Enough said. This amount will last me.

Apricot and Jalapeno Marmalade

Ingredients:

  • 8 ripe apricots, quartered
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and minced
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pectin 
  • 1/2 to 1 teaspoon coarse salt (Kosher or sea)

Method:

1. Place the quartered apricots, jalapeno, water, and sugar in a non stick pot over medium high heat. Stir every once in a while. When it starts to bubble, turn heat down to a light simmer (basically you want just a few bubbles to form). Let simmer for 15-20 minutes – stirring every 3-5 minutes.

2. Add pectin. Stir to combine. Simmer another 8 minutes. Mixture should be liquidy – don’t fret.

3. Using a mini food processor/blender/or regular sized food processor, add half the mixture and pulse 2 -4 times (this equals about 2 -3 seconds processing). Remove and place into glass jar. Add the remaining of the mixture and process. *If there is a lot of liquid, remove 1-2 heaping tablespoons of that and throw away – this is what I did. Place into glass jar with the rest of the marmalade. Add salt and stir to combine throughout. Taste – may have to add more salt.

4. Place in refrigerator uncovered to cool. Once cooled, a lid can be added.

 

 

Leave a Reply

