Food: Summer Corn and String Bean Pasta.

This is sort of a strange title for this post. I wasn’t loving Summer Pasta or Summer Vegetable Pasta. And I thought that I should be specific in my title.

Okay, I’m rambling.

Corn on the cob is one of my favorite summer sides. Corn off the cob is just as delicious plus you don’t need floss at the end of your meal.

String beans add that punch of green and crunch. What is not to love about a string bean?

I just happened to plant about 10 extra cherry tomato plants than necessary. I mean I’ve been giving tomatoes away. Each afternoon I end up picking a bowl full. So adding these into the pasta mix was not only necessary since my counter is full of them but also so flavorful. I also love when they pop in your mouth.

A little warning about the leeks. I’m not sure if you are a leek person. I mean they can be overpowering in a dish. Here they aren’t overpowering but you can taste them. They can be omitted or substituted out for regular olde yellow onion sautéed until soft. I enjoy the bite that leeks have plus I think they go great along side of cilantro. Try it and let me know what you think.

Summer Vegetable Pasta

Yield = 4 portions for hungry people.

Ingredients:

  • Penne pasta
  • String beans, cleaned, ends removed and cut in half
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1/2 leek, cleaned and chopped
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 2 ears of corn, cut off cob and cob reserved
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro (or more if you are like me)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 cup Asagio cheese, grated

Method:

1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Meanwhile, blanch string beans in small pot of boiling water – approximately 3-4 minutes. Drain and let sit in colander.

2. In a medium-sized non-stick pan melt butter over medium heat. Add chopped leeks. Saute for 2 minutes. Add cherry tomatoes and saute another 2 minutes – stirring occasionally. Add corn, saute for 1 minute, just to heat through.

3. Drain pasta and reserve 1 cup of cooking liquid. Return pasta to pot with 1/4 cup of cooking liquid. Add string beans, leek mixture, cilantro, red pepper flakes and salt and pepper to taste. Stir to combine and coat pasta with liquid. Add more liquid if desired. The pasta will soak up the liquid and create a sauce with the ingredients.

4. Plate individual portions and top with asagio cheese and more cilantro (if desired). Dig in while its hot.

Leave a Reply

